Finalists announced for NHS community staff awards

13th October 2022

Lincolnshire Community Health Services NHS Trust (LCHS) is proud of its staff and volunteers, whose dedication and commitment to delivering outstanding care makes a huge difference in the communities we serve.

The organisation recognises and commends these achievements through the Celebrating Success Awards. The awards allow us to acknowledge and celebrate the outstanding work of our staff and volunteers who provide high-quality community-based services aimed at supporting people to manage their own health at home and reducing the need for people to go to hospital.

LCHS staff care for thousands of patients every day and these awards recognise the hard work that goes into preventing health problems from getting worse while compassionately caring for the people of Lincolnshire.

A record 187 entries were received for teams and individuals for the 10 categories. This year the public, patients and carers have nominated in two categories: People's Award and Volunteer of the Year Award.

Following an extensive judging process for this year’s Celebrating Success Awards a shortlist can be announced.

This includes people who have worked on setting up virtual wards to support to patients without them having to attend hospital, staff who have set up a new specialist speech service for children and nurses who have gone and beyond their duties to care for their patients.

Finalists are invited to the awards ceremony on Thursday 17 November, where the winners will be revealed.

Elaine Baylis, Chair at LCHS said: “Many congratulations to everyone who has been nominated. I’m really pleased with the number of entries; it shows how hard our staff and volunteers work to care for the people of Lincolnshire.

“I’m really looking forward to the event and hearing more about the nominations. We’ve not been able to host a physical ceremony since 2019, due to the pandemic, so this year’s event will be extra special.”

Like most events, the awards are supported by sponsorship from local businesses and suppliers. This year the main sponsor is Hallam Medical Ltd. Any business which is interested in supporting the awards is asked to call 01522 309751.

The shortlisted individuals and teams for each category of the awards is below:

1. Patient Involvement and Experience Award

  • Jasmine Day and Adam Hunt (Digital health)
  • MSK Strategic Delivery Plan Team
  • Rebecca Benton (The Butterfly Hospice Trust– Collaborative Community Care)

2. Inclusion, Equality and Diversity         

  • David Rimmington (Child Health)
  • Joanna (Asia) Nind (Equality, Diversity and Inclusion)
  • Lesley Wilkins (Secretary) 
  • Vicky Rose (Communications)

3. Innovation Award

  • Beth Searle and Rachel Stewart (Therapy services)
  • Debbie Leigh (Virtual wards)
  • Kirsteen Redmile (System work)

4. Leader Award     

  • Julie O'Rourke (Urgent community response)
  • Lynn Short (Scotter ward)
  • Nat Mckee (Urgent care)

5. Unsung Hero Clinical    

  • Beverley Haywood (Skegness hospital)
  • Frances (Frankey) Prescott (Urgent care)
  • Jason Kettle (Therapy Services)

6. Unsung Hero Non-clinical        

  • George Allen (Boston patient admin service)
  • Samantha Frankland (HR)
  • Steve Jackson (Urgent care) 
  • David Rimmington (Child Health)

7. Team of the Year Clinical        

  • Children's Speech and Language Therapy (Therapy services)
  • Lincolnshire Post-Covid Rehabilitation Service (Specialist services)
  • Tissue Viability Team (Collaborative Community Care)

8. Team of the Year Non-Clinical 

  • Medical Devices Team
  • The Operations Centre
  • Volunteering Services

9. Volunteer of the Year    

  • Isabel Stroubos
  • Jayne Curtis
  • Glenn Smith
  • Jane Brown
  • Rosemary Smith
  • Bev Manson
  • Julia Richardson

10. People’s Award

  • The Butterfly Hospice Trust nursing team (Collaborative Community Care)
  • Lisa Cooper (Community nursing)
  • Lincolnshire Children and Young People Rapid Response Respiratory Service (Therapy services)